In order to help prevent the spread of travel-related cases of coronavirus in the United States, today the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Acting Secretary Chad F. Wolf issued a Notice of Arrival Restrictions outlining the process for American citizens, legal permanent residents, and their immediate families who are returning home after recently visiting certain European countries (listed below), China, and Iran.

Effective for flights taking off at 11:59 PM EDT on Friday, March 13th, Americans returning from all restricted countries will now be required to travel through the following 13 airports:

·       Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts

·       Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois

·       Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas

·       Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan

·       Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii

·       Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia

·       John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York

·       Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California

·       Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida

·       Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey

·       San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California

·       Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington

·       Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

Upon arrival, travelers will proceed to standard customs processing. They will then continue to enhanced entry screening where the passenger will be asked about their medical history, current condition, and asked for contact information for local health authorities. Passengers will then be given written guidance about COVID-19 and directed to proceed to their final destination, and immediately home-quarantine in accordance with CDC best practices.