Rep. Darren Soto and all of FL Democratic Congressional Delegation Urges State to Secure Election Systems & Improve Accessibility Ahead of 2020

September 25, 2019
In The News

Washington, DC- Today, the entire Florida Democratic Congressional delegation sent a letter to Florida Secretary of State Laurel Lee pressing her to bolster election security and improve Floridians' access to vote for next year's election and requesting information about these efforts.

As the Members write, "The 2020 primary election is fast approaching, and so now is the time to ensure our state is taking all necessary actions to harden our election defenses, guard against disinformation, and improve election administration generally."

In the letter, the Members of Congress highlight the threats to the state's election system. Special Counsel Robert Mueller's report found that the Russian military intelligence agency gained access to at least one Florida county's network. In the 2018 election, Floridians experienced obstacles to cast their vote and have their vote count, including long lines, faulty voting equipment, unfair and arbitrary rejection of absentee ballots, and other instances.

As the Members state in the letter, "With approximately 13.5 million active registered voters in Florida, it is our shared responsibility to work together to put local supervisors of elections are in the position to correct the voting challenges that have occurred in the past two elections. Together, we must take steps to guard against these vulnerabilities before next year’s elections to make sure Floridians can express their will at the ballot box, unencumbered by outside forces."

The letter was led by Representative Ted Deutch (FL-22) and signed by Representatives Darren Soto (FL-09), Al Lawson, Jr. (FL-05), Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Val Demings (FL-10), Charlie Crist (FL-13), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Frederica Wilson (FL-24), Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), and Donna E. Shalala (FL-27).

Click here to access a copy of the signed letter. The text of the letter is below.