## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 2, 2021

The Honorable Wilton Simpson President of the Senate 404 S. Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1100

The Honorable Chris Sprowls Speaker of the House 420 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300

Dear President Simpson and Speaker Sprowls,

As the Legislature continues its important work to prepare Florida's 2021-22 budget, we are encouraged the Governor has expressed his support for utilizing nearly \$10 billion in federal stimulus funding provided by the recently-passed American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.

Given earlier projections of a gap of roughly \$2.1 billion in state revenue attributed to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are hopeful this funding will go a long way in reducing pressure to enact steep spending cuts in the year ahead – particularly for those programs and entities which have been central to the public health response required by this unprecedented public health emergency.

As the state budget process moves forward, we believe the Legislature should ensure full funding for Florida's Medicaid program. Most importantly, this funding is critical to ensure access to vital health care services for Florida's most vulnerable patients. Our hospitals have been – and remain – on the frontlines in the fight against COVID-19, and we believe strongly now is not the time to cut resources for those central in caring for Floridians as we continue our collective efforts to combat this virus and rebuild from its devastating impact. We thank you for your full and fair consideration to this matter.

Best regards,

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Lois Frankel

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

un

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Auso

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Indenica S. Wilson

Frederica Wilson Member of Congress

Val B. Demings

Val Demings Member of Congress

alee Hastings

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Debis Wasa

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress