Soto, Members of Florida Democratic Delegation Write Letter Asking Biden Administration to Boost its Support of COVID-19 Prevention Efforts in Florida

July 23, 2021
Press Release
The letter comes after reports that Florida now accounts for 1 in 5 new U.S. COVID-19 cases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Darren Soto (FL-09) and members of the Florida Democratic delegation sent a letter to President Joe Biden and U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Secretary Xavier Becerra urging the administration to consider boosting their support of COVID-19 prevention efforts in Florida, help combat increasing misinformation about COVID-19 and vaccines, and detail how they may be able to increase the frequency of their case totals.


Florida now accounts for 1 in 5 new U.S. COVID cases. As cases continue rising, misinformation efforts that fuel vaccine hesitancy are causing preventable deaths,” wrote the members. “Further, the state’s rise in Delta variant cases is of increasing concern as it makes up 83% of new US coronavirus cases3 and is more contagious than the other virus strains.” 


“These problems are compounded by the fact that Florida’s local government officials’ decision to reduce their reporting rate from daily to weekly. Having the most up to date information on the coronavirus is the first step to combatting it. Therefore, we urge your fair and full consideration to explore all avenues to help Florida combat this increase in positive cases. We appreciate your continued assistance to prevent COVID-19 cases and wish to be helpful in this endeavor. Given the increasingly alarming situation in Florida, we ask your full and fair consideration of the matter and ask for your continued assistance to prevent COVID-19 cases from rising further.”


The letter was signed by all 10 members of the Florida Democratic delegation: Rep. Darren Soto (FL-09), Rep. Lois Frankel (FL-21), Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14), Rep. Charlie Crist (FL-13), Rep. Val Demings (FL-10), Rep. Ted Deutch (FL-22), Rep. Al Lawson (FL-05), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), and Rep. Frederica Wilson (FL-24).


For full text of the letter, please click here