Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Darren Soto

Representing the 9th District of Florida

FEMA Declares Central Florida Counties Eligible for Individual Assistance

September 13, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Today, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) updated the list of Florida counties designated for Individual Assistance to include Lake, Orange, Osceola, Polk, and Seminole counties. Residents from these counties are now eligible to apply for FEMA’s Individuals and Household program, an emergency fund available for residents who are financially unable to cover personal and home repair costs caused by Hurricane Irma.

On Tuesday, September 12, Rep. Darren Soto led a letter to President Trump urging, signed by U.S. Representatives Val Demings (D-FL), Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), Thomas Rooney (R-FL), and Dennis Ross (R-FL).

FEMA issued a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Florida on September 10, 2017, allowing for federal funds to be used in the recovery phase from Hurricane Irma. It has since been updated to include 36 counties eligible for individual and household assistance.

Residents of Lake, Orange, Osceola, Polk, and Seminole counties who qualify are encouraged to apply online at

Constituents may call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.