Soto, Bipartisan Florida Members Raise Concerns Over the EU’s Tariffs on State’s Grapefruit Industry

February 10, 2021
Press Release
Without immediate action from the Administration, Florida could lose the fresh grapefruit market in the European Union

KISSIMMEE Last week, members of the Florida congressional delegation, led by Reps. Darren Soto (FL-09) and Bill Posey (FL-08), wrote a letter to Acting U.S. Trade Representative, Maria Pagan, expressing concerns over retaliatory tariffs placed by the European Union (EU) on U.S. agricultural products, particularly Florida grapefruits. 

“These tariffs have had a devastating impact on citrus, particularly Florida grapefruit, worsening the already difficult market conditions resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic,” wrote the members. “Because fresh citrus and citrus juices are subject to the retaliatory tariff, fresh Florida grapefruit is among the most adversely impacted.” 

In the past, forty percent of Florida’s fresh grapefruit production was intended for EU markets. 

With the addition of a twenty-five percent retaliatory tariff on top of the existing 1.5 percent tariff, grapefruit exports from Florida have shrunk significantly. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, Florida growers have already been struggling to maintain their livelihoods. If immediate action is not taken and the United States loses the fresh grapefruit market in the EU, they could face even harsher consequences. 

“As delegation members of the largest citrus-producing state in the country, we urge your full and fair consideration on this most important matter. The loss of this industry would be devastating to Florida growers and our nation,” continued the members. 

The letter was signed by 22 members of the Florida congressional delegation, including Rep. Darren Soto (FL-09), Rep. Bill Posey (FL-08), Rep. Neal P. Dunn, M.D. (FL-02), Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03), Rep. John H. Rutherford (FL-04), Rep. Al Lawson, Jr. (FL-05), Rep. Michael Waltz (FL-06), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Rep. Val Demings (FL-10), Rep. Daniel Webster (FL-11), Rep. Gus M. Bilirakis (FL-12), Rep. Charlie Crist (FL-13), Rep. C. Scott Franklin (FL-15), Rep. Vern Buchanan (FL-16), Rep. W. Gregory Steube (FL-17), Rep. Brian Mast (FL-18), Rep. Byron Donalds (FL-19), Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Rep. Lois Frankel (FL-21), Rep. Theodore E. Deutch (FL-22), Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25), and Rep. Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27). 


Click here to read the full text of the letter.