Soto, Bipartisan Florida Members Write Letter in Support of the I-4 Beyond the Ultimate Project

May 28, 2021
Press Release
The letter was sent to President Joe Biden and Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg as they work with Congress to fix America’s crumbling infrastructure

KISSIMMEE, FL – Today, bipartisan members of the Florida congressional delegation, led by Reps. Darren Soto (D-FL-09) and Michael Waltz (R-FL-06), sent a letter to President Joe Biden and Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg expressing their support for the I-4 Beyond the Ultimate Project. The project has faced an elongated project schedule as a result of budgetary limitations.

“As you are undoubtedly aware, Florida, with over 21 million residents, is the third most populated state in our union. Florida is also a travel destination for millions of non-residents. Last year, 86 million people came to visit the state,” wrote the members. “In 2019 the number of total visitors was 131 million. A large share of Florida’s growth has been in Central Florida. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Central Florida is the state’s fastest growing region.”

“Unsurprisingly, this growth places a strain on our existing infrastructure. Interstate 4 (I-4) stretches from Volusia through Seminole, Orange, Osceola, Polk, and Hillsborough counties. There is no doubt that I-4 is crucial in connecting Central Florida from coast to coast. Therefore, we believe your administration should make the I-4 Beyond the Ultimate project a priority.”

“Supporting this project will alleviate congestion for millions of commuters and help facilitate commerce across our state. There are state, regional, and local commitments for completing the project.”

The members also invited President Biden and Secretary Buttigieg to visit Florida and experience the need for infrastructure investment firsthand. Eight members of the Florida congressional delegation signed the letter, including Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL-09), Rep. Michael Waltz (R-FL-06), Rep. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14), Rep. Charlie Crist (D-FL-13), Rep. Val Demings (D-FL-10), Rep. Scott Franklin (R-FL-15), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-FL-07), and Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL-08).

To view the full letter, please click here