RELEASE: Rep. Soto Named Democracy Awards Finalist

March 19, 2019
Press Release
Congressional Management Foundation Recognizes Rep. Soto for Outstanding Achievement in Operations and Office Culture

WASHINGTON, D.C.,  Today, Rep. Darren Soto has been announced as a finalist for the Democracy Awards, CMF’s honors program recognizing non-legislative achievement in operations and constituent service by congressional offices and Members of Congress by The Congressional Management Foundation (CMF). Rep. Soto is being recognized for excellence in the "Life in Congress"- Workplace Environment category, which highlights offices that have established both formal policies and informal cultures that enhance the work-life fit and professional development of their staffs.

“As a finalist in "Life in Congress"- Workplace Environment, Rep. Soto’s office is one of the best in Congress,” said Bradford Fitch, President and CEO of the Congressional Management Foundation. “This designation demonstrates that Rep. Soto has made a significant commitment to being the best public servant for his constituents in Florida. Rep. Soto and his staff are to be congratulated for not only being a model for colleagues in Congress, but for helping to restore trust and faith that our democratic institutions can work,” he said.

Rep. Darren Soto has stated the following, “Our public trust extends to being productive, transparent and accountable to the public while balancing staff quality if life and professionalism. The synergy of these elements makes for an amazing effective office.”

Twelve House and Senate offices were honored as finalists in three categories: 1) Constituent Service; 2) Transparency, Accountability, and Innovation; and 3) "Life in Congress"- Workplace Environment. House and Senate personal offices self-nominated using an online questionnaire, and CMF followed up with offices to gather documentation and assess the office's adherence to the established criteria.

A committee comprised primarily of former Members of Congress and former congressional staffers will select the two winners (one Democrat and one Republican) for each category. Winners will be announced in May, and a ceremony to honor finalists and winners will be held on June 20, 2019.

Congressman Darren Soto represents Florida’s 9th District in the U.S. House of Representatives, which includes Osceola County, as well as parts of Orange and Polk counties.
Twitter/Instagram: @RepDarrenSoto | Facebook: CongressmanDarrenSoto | Website: